Allegiant: Damaged and Mended

Previously posted October 26, 2013 in Angeli’s main blog (theangeltakesflight):

A moment of silence out of respect for the well-written series that has given me all sorts of feels, both good and bad; the three books that stand for what is definitely good writing, excellent world-building, and probably the best YA-dystopian novels I’ve ever read thus far (and I’ve read quite a number, mind you…)

Breathe in. Breathe out. Come on, Angeli. Time to get over it. Time to write your review/reaction entry/ranting…
Insurgent ended with such a cliff-hanger that I wanted to get my hands on the next book as soon as possible. I waited for such a long time for Detergent Allegiant and when the day of its release got closer and closer, I made it a point to already reserve a copy so as not to be a victim of out of stock.

And now that I’ve finally finished reading it – took me longer than usual because I had to stop reading at some point (you’ll understand when you reach Chapter Twenty-Nine and Chapter Fifty) just so I could let loose some emotions. I’m going to for the faction approach for this review! 🙂 Spoiler warning, as usual, dear readers! I’ll try to keep them at a minimum, but still… 

“I am not a desperate, unsteady child who throws his trust around. I am not damaged.” – Tobias, Allegiant

CANDOR – The truth hurts. Man. It’s something common between all the dystopian novels I’ve read so far – revealing the deception and manipulation that has been happening in what was once believed in to be the ‘perfect’ society starts a revolution. The ‘Divergent’ series is no exception to this one, yet at the same time, it manages to completely stand out from the crowd.

The revelations about the world outside the fence, the history of the Purity War, the ongoing battle against genetic damage, and the whole GPs-vs-GDs thing are so brilliant and Veronica Roth’s clear talent in world building and story weaving just makes execution perfect. I don’t need the truth serum to be perfectly honest with you all – it’s so perfect that it’s practically heart-breaking. THE ENDING. It was so freakin’ hard to accept that that happened – Chapter Fifty, people, better watch out. But, that’s just the thing with the truth, isn’t it? It’s so hard to accept, but in the end, we have to. Because it’s the only way to start moving on.

“And I know, without being told, that’s what love does, when it’s right – it makes you more than you were, more than you thought you could be.” – Tris, Allegiant

ERUDITE – Is Veronica Roth some kind of super genius? God. Writing like that takes serious intelligence. I mean, genetic engineering? The serums? Matthew? Dude, the existence of that character and the fact that his dialogues about all those intellectual shiz are enough evidence I say to prove Veronica Roth’s genius.
Knowledge can be pretty overbearing – hell, who am I kidding? It’s like that all the time. It can push you to doing things you once thought you never can do. It can make you desperate, so desperate that you’d seek an outlet – any outlet – just so you can take some sort of action. Throughout Allegiant, we see Tris and Tobias struggle with each new learning and discovery and how they try their hardest to stay true to their selves, their own judgment, so as to make a decision on how to go about the things they know and the things they want to know still.

“I love my brother. I love him, and he is quaking with terror at the thought of death. I love him and all I can think, all I can hear in my mind, are the words I said to him a few days ago: I would never deliver you to your own execution.” – Tris, Allegiant

ABNEGATION – Here comes the feels… The Divergent trilogy has made me realize just how thin the line that separates selfishness and selflessness is. Bold statement, maybe I should transfer it to the Dauntless portion of this review… Tris. Oh God. One of my favorite YA heroines of all time – TRIS PRIOR, WHY ON EARTH DID YOU DO THAT?! *insert screams of frustration* Tobias provides the answer to that question – Because she’s Tris. “Of course she would.” One can interpret her choice of action in two ways: 1) It can only be selflessness when you choose to give up your life for the sake of your traitor of a brother (who, by the way, practically gave you up to die just a few months ago) and for the sake of humanity. To willingly embrace the possibility to death and head straight toward it… ; 2) Dear Lord, how can you be so selfish and leave him?! So self-indulgent is the fact that you took the decision upon yourself, Tris. No matter how noble it may be, it’s still so incredibly… ugh.

I write a paragraph especially for Evelyn and Tobias. What happens in Chapter Forty-Eight is just so touching that I soon found myself in tears. I guess being a parent just makes you that selfless – you would always choose your children before yourself. You’d give up everything, even all those you worked hard for, if it is for your children.

“Life damages us, every one. We can’t escape that damage.
We can be mended. We mend each other – Tobias, Allegiant

AMITY – I practically had to force myself to read the rest of book after Chapter Fifty. YES. IT IS THAT EMOTIONALLY TRAUMATIZING. But, in the end, I’m glad that I did. I felt like I was grieving with Tobias with every turn of the page. And I guess that’s what makes the Epilogue all the more heart-wrecking. The moment I read the word “zip-line”, I knew what he planned to do and it just brought so many emotions up the surface that (yes) I cried again. Finally, there is acceptance and along with it, peace. That’s when it really ended and a true new beginning can take place.
DAUNTLESS – It takes a lot of guts to write something like this. Thank you, Veronica Roth, for taking a chance with Divergent and sharing it to all of us. Brave plot decisions all over the place – CHAPTER FIFTY – but all for the sake of what you believe is right and true for the story. Thank you for showing us the power of taking chances and of facing fears. The Divergent trilogy is certainly something that I won’t forget about in a long while.
No, I’m still have a bad case of literary hangover. 😦 But that’s it for this ranting (for now). I’m waiting for my best friend to finish reading, so we can rant about all the feels together.

Extra Ranting:

  • I liked learning about the back story of Tris’s mother. She’s always been shrouded with mystery from the start – she’s not your typical Abnegation! – and Allegiant explained a lot. I kind of wanted more though. Any chance of a short story compilation from Natalie’s perspective? 😀
  • I have my own personal take on the Allegiant cover! First of all, it’s quite noticeable that it’s not a faction symbol, unlike Divergent and Insurgent. And after reading the book, I think I understand why it just shows water. Remember the weird statue in the compound? Yep, the one with the dripping water. I think it’s the same symbolism, only this time, the cover shows the water in wave form, a much extreme form, compared to the slow dripping line of the statue. It stands for change and ultimately, healing, something Allegiant has shown to be possible to attain even after warfare, even after grief, even after damage.
DOCTOR'S ORDERS: the whole series is a must-read for fans of action-packed, thrilling, page-turners written skillfully; pretty hard to put down once you get really into it!
Watch out for: a lot of unexpected twists that maybe potentially emotionally scarring; FOUR, oh God, FOUR!; and about a million feelings!
Leave a Reply

